top of page

The One Memory of Flora Banks

Synopsis: Her name is Flora Banks. She is 17 years old. Paige is her best friend. Drake is Paige's boyfriend. Flora remembers everything before she was 10. She knows how to work the shower and brew a cup of tea. She knows her ABCs, 123s, and that when she was 10 she got a tumor in her brain that eventually lead to the state she is in at the moment. Flora writes everything on her arms and hands so that whenever she forgets she can update herself. She also owns a notebook to help her out when she's confused; the notebook is practically a detailed version of her arms and hands. But then she remembers something. She remembers herself kissing drake the night before he plans to go to Svalbard. Actually she remembers the whole time she spent with him. Paige finds out and then flora is practically friendless, Jacob, the brother she loves, falls ill and so then the parents travel to Paris and leave flora with Paige , the friend who hates her and doesn't show up. That leaves flora in her own house by herself for a week and so what happens next isn't exactly expected. Review + style of writing : when I first started this book I felt lost. I didn't have enough information to keep me calm, I was so flustered and confused and that was mainly because the author was practically helping any reader understand how flora felt and what she was going through. As I reached the middle I felt so much more comfortable with the book and used to the style of writing ( one that was kind of repetitive because of flora's amnesia ) and I enjoyed it immensely. The book was something like a psychological mystery with a touch of romance, the kind that made you feel lost yet intrigued until the ending. The ending was so very enlightening and I can say that it has given me the closure that I wanted. Recommendation: I'm not a psychological mystery kind of person but I really enjoyed this book even with it's confusing introduction and the sometimes frustrating flora. If you're a fan of everything everything and vanishing girl then I recommend this book to you. I'd rate 'The One Memory of Flora Banks' a 3.8 out of 5 stars .

-Enjoy


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page