top of page

"All The Bright Places"

synopsis: The book tells the story of Violet Markey, whose sister had tragedly died in a car crash she had survived, and Theodore Finch, better known as 'Freak' since eighth grade. This is the story of how a bell tower incident causes Violet and Theodore to grow inseparable, only to be separated by an awful event.

review: From the title of this book, I expected it to have a 'BRIGHT' and happy ending, a breathtakingly romantic plot and those dreamy happily ever afters, and so what I was met with took me by surprise. The best part about the entire book is that it is anything but cliché. It reflects what many teenagers go through, from depression to bullying to careless parents. the book took us into the thoughts of the two main characters, Theodore Finch and Violet Markey, and it increased my love for the author's writing and the plot. It helped the readers relate to the characters and understand what they were going through.

This book was split into three parts, the first two parts was interesting enough to get me to keep going but the third part was what put me through a roller coaster and left me as an emotional wreck. the book is sort of sad, I won't lie, but it reflects the awful truth about our mislead society in a way that makes the reader open their eyes to many problems, suicide being the main one.

style of writing: the authors style of writing is one that makes you feel as though you are living inside the character's head.

recommendation: overall, I think its a very good book and I would definitely recommend it to anyone above 12, since it includes heavy topics such as suicide. I would rate this 3.5 stars out of 5


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page