top of page

Did "Me Before You" need a sequel? "After You" book review.

WARNING: CONTAINS ME BEFORE YOU SPOILERS

When there is a sequel you usually expect the best out of the first book, you know you expect a happily ever after or at least both main characters should be alive. After finishing "Me Before You", I wondered what the author could possibly right about in the sequel. You always expect the best ending, with the most positive characters, and blah blah blah, the things you wouldn't expect yourself to go through with a sane mind and so Jojo Moyes Made us believe that everything was okay like so what if the love of her life died ... Louisa will get through it. We, well I, believed Jojo and when do we ever want to forget about will and start thinking about some other guy who waltzes into her life. Long story short, I wanted to know what happened to her, but I didn't want her ( I know this is a bit selfish ) to move on. Let me tell you this, I didn't expect there to be a sequel, and Jojo Moyes shocked me more than once. There were more characters and a story to continue, one you realized needed to be told. so when I read it in the beginning (first 5 pages, I am very fast to judge, i know) , I thought it existing was just Jojo moyes trying to make use of her fame and to write one more book even if it was not needed, but when new characters were revealed and the story finally settled I felt like without it would have been incomplete, you would have this hole in you heart that you wouldn't notice until it was filled. If you read "Me Before You" and totally ditched "After you" then you are missing out on a lot of news and a lot of drama and trust me its worth it.

Her writing style was very similar to the first book and I felt like this book deserved 4.5/5 stars. Not because it was worse or anything just that it was the kind of book that held the after effects of the story so when she starts falling for another guy, I feel happy for her but disappointed that Will didn't come back form the dead. I got over it thought because in a way he was there through out the whole book.

- Enjoy :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page