top of page

Book review on "Love Letters To The Dead"

I started reading "love letters to the dead" by Ava Dellaira because the title drew me in and I felt like it was the type of book I would definetly enjoy. It turned out to be one of those books that has a slow beginning, and I personally don't quite like slow beginnings. To be very honest with you, I was very close to quitting a few times, but I am not a quitter. About halfway into the book, there was this big reveal and from there it became a very good book, and the ending ,especially, made me emotional.

The entire story is written in the form of letters to dead people, as in musicians, artists, etc......, the girl writing those letters, Laurel, is a high schooler, who believes ,her sister, May's death is her own fault. She changes schools to where everyone is a stranger, not knowing her as the girl whose sister died. Although she thought it impossible, she did manage to make friends with Hanna, who's unsure about her own sexuality, living with her abusive brother, near deaf grandfather and dying grandmother; Natalie, who's in love with Hanna but feels rejected by her; and eventually Kirsten and Tristan, the senior couple who spend most of their time in the alley getting stoned. Laurel goes through high school, possibly experiencing being in love for the first time with Sky, a guy who's hard to resist, but has a messed up life himself. Her guilt, combined with her mother leaving and her screwing up her chance with Sky, causes her to question all the decisions she makes throughout the book.

The plot is actually quiet good, as I already mentioned, and had gotten me curious about all the people Laurel wrote to. I actually ended up liking a few of the songs referenced in the book. In general, the book does involve some heavy themes and deep emotions, like drugs, alcohol, depression, guilt, but also doesn't go overboard with them. The book put me in a roller coaster of emotions but it was totally worth the read, especially since the ending gave me a sense of closure.

Ava Dellaira's style of writing is very good, mysterious, deep with emotion and will excite you about what is coming next. As for the rating, I would rate it 7 stars out of 10. All else I can say about the book is go for it and be patient till you get to the good parts. I promise it won't be a waste of your time. - :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page